New Year’s Resolutions of the Soft Pretzel Variety

One of my goals this winter was to learn how to make soft pretzels, mostly because I’ve never met a soft pretzel I didn’t like and I like making delicious things without having to buy exotic ingredients, like cream of tartar or shallots. I also like making resolutions I can actually keep (like “Don’t wet your pants due to excessive laughter this year”).

Last year’s resolution? Get rid of any ugly and/or ill-fitting undies. And you know what? I totally won at keeping that resolution.

The goal of making soft pretzels seemed a bit more daunting than getting rid of unseemly underwear, however. I have never made a soft pretzel in my life from scratch, and what with their twists / turns and golden brown crispy outside / chewy delicious inside, it seemed a tad… complicated. Luckily, the internet is a magical place where People Who Make Things From Scratch (TM) are nice enough to share their successes.

Without further ado, I give you: the most adorably Fatty-Chubbs McFatterson baked soft pretzels of 2012! (From this lovely recipe). Oh, are they ever delicious.

20120102. first ever soft pretzels.In honor of snow globe conditions outside on January 2 and our last day of vacation, I went on a bit of a baking spree. As the dough for the pretzels rose in a quiet corner, I decided to try my hand at a yeast-free bread recipe, which will be a keeper once I figure out just the right combination of yum stuffs to add to it. It’s also not going to win any beauty contests.

20120102. no yeast bread. not pretty, but delish.We also happened to run out of dish soap, so the super official, space-farm continuum recipe:

  • 1 cup Dr. Bronner’s almond-scented soap (or any pure castille soap)
  • 1/4 cup warm water

No, for real. That’s the recipe. I’ll let you know how it works out.

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions of the Soft Pretzel Variety

    • Thanks so much. Can you believe there’s only ONE left from that batch, less than 24 hours later?! We’re excited about the bloggy-blog, too (and, more importantly, the projects that drive the blog!).

  1. Oooh pretzels! I’m going to have to try out that recipe. How’s the dish soap workin’ for you? I hate the type we use and simpler may be better in this case.

    • Oh my goodness, the recipe made DELICIOUS pretzels! I’m going to try to make them a bit less, erm… stout next time.

      The soap? Not as thrilled just yet, but it might take getting used to. The soap is just a lot more liquidy than I’m used to.

Leave a Reply

