Every House Needs a Beaker and Henrietta*

*Note that we will very likely actually name two of our chickens, who will arrive next week, Beaker and Henrietta. But that is neither here nor there.

Instead of the actual wee babes who will be gracing our garage brooder with their lovely selves, though, I am actually talking about these two girls – meet Beaker:

20120311. Beaker.

And Henrietta:
20120311. Henrietta.I’ve decided to support our chicken habit, in part, by selling some of my original chicken block prints! That makes sense, right?

Soon, I’m sure I’ll be making bee block prints to pay for a new colony, then goat block prints to purchase a miniature goat or two, and maybe someday, if I’m lucky, sheep and lamb block prints to help feed those dudes.

Anyway, if you’re interested in learning more about block printing, ask away. It’s really exciting to watch your print emerge, layer after layer, and it makes your brain see things in an entirely different way. And, of course, if you’re interested in what I’ve lovingly referred to as the “psychedelic chicken” prints, check out my Etsy store, which may expand shortly: http://www.etsy.com/shop/famousthecat.

6 thoughts on “Every House Needs a Beaker and Henrietta*

  1. Christie, you inspire me! If I were physically healthier, and not a scared chicken-shit, I would soooo do what you are doing. I love it! I believe in self-sustainability! 🙂

    Miss you, girl!
    Tracey S. (Biology)

    • Aw, Tracey, thanks so much! I miss you, too – we had some good times in that scary little office, didn’t we? Remember the cockroach on your desk?! OMG!!!!

      Don’t worry, I’ll keep posting every mundane detail so you can live vicariously through our garden mis-adventures. 🙂 The next thing my boyfriend wants? Bees. Yup, that’s right. BEES. I’m going to have panic attacks every time I go in the backyard for the first few months probably.

      Christie

      • Ummm, yes, that office *was* scary, and yes, we had GREAT times! 🙂 I’ll look forward to reading about your chicken adventures. Someone else in Biology is blogging about their adventures in chicken farming. You might pop over there to check out what they are doing to save yourself some hard knocks. lol Hopefully, your chickens and mini farm flourish!

        http://ghostwoodfarm.com/

    • So glad we are BOTH out of that office! I am totally going to check that blog out – that’s awesome, and I would love to learn from them. Their operation looks much bigger than ours will be – for now. 🙂

  2. Can I preorder the bees? As a Baldwin I love all things “b” whoop. Also, my mom use to tell me to Bee-leve in myself. Get it. She is a whimsical woman.

    • I will set aside a bee print just for you! I guess I’d better get to designing it, shouldn’t I? 🙂

      I like your mom. A little bit of whimsy in this world is required.

Leave a Reply

