Canning Report, August 2012: “I Yike Apple Toss”

First and foremost, be sure to add Jenna and her lovely blog, Upcountry Living, to your blog roll! We have a little collab going (that’s what the cool kids say, right? collab?) of guest posts. Check out our guest post on her blog, “Chicken FAIL,” and stay tuned in early September for a report right here from our best (and, admittedly, our only) buddy in Maine!

Next up: August canning report! Seeing as it is now September, you can see I’ve been a tad behind on my canning reports. With all the chicken telenovela drama we’ve been having, the canning reports have dropped to the wayside a bit. Who cares about canning reports when UFOs are flying out of chickens’ backsides and the little death defying jerks are breaking out and braving the wilds of So Bro?!

August:

    • Honeyed Hot Peppers (3 half-pint jars): Yes, more honeyed hot peppers! Now that it has rained a bit again and the temperatures are cooling, the peppers are finally taking off. This recipe is perhaps one of our favorite foods around here – we put them on burgers, huevos rancheros, egg sandwiches, tacos. They are fantastically hot.

20120825. Honeyed hot peppers.

    • Roasted Tomatoes (4 half-pint jars): I will admit, I am lazy when it comes to tomatoes. Peeling seems like a horrible pain in the tookus. Plus, I discovered last summer that I absolutely love the sweetness of roasted tomatoes. So instead, I roasted a big batch of Romas, then added the appropriate amount of lemon juice and canned them based on a different basic tomato recipe. I hope we don’t get botulism.

20120812. My grandma's chicken, roasted tomatoes, honeyed hot peppers, and Thomas Jefferson.

  • Apple Sauce (10 jars and counting): What can I say… in the immortal words of my favorite uncle, Kyle, I yike apple toss (Kyle didn’t utter a word until he was about four years old. The first thing he said was, instead, a sentence: “I yike apple toss”).  I have probably one more batch worth of apples in the fridge, too, so there will be more apple sauce. Oh, yes.

July:

  • Pickled Beets (3 jars)
  • Honeyed Hot Peppers (5 half-pint jars, plus some)
  • Cinnamon Blueberry Jam (9 4-oz. jelly jars)
  • Garden Herb Blueberry Jam (2 jars)
  • Rosemary Jelly (8 half-pint jars)
  • Hot-Cumin Pickled Summer Squash (4 jars)
  • Turmeric Refrigerator Pickles (4 jars)

June:

  • Bread and Butter Pickles (4 jars)
  • Honeyed Green Hot Peppers (2 jars)
  • Pickled Beets (2 jars)
  • Classic Pickle Spears (3 jars)

6 thoughts on “Canning Report, August 2012: “I Yike Apple Toss”

  1. I LOVED your post, and through this post I found out about two awesome new blogs to read! Thank you.

    I think the items accumulated happens with almost any new family member. The amount of Westie items I’ve accumulated in the past 5 years is ridiculous. Next on your list – one of those giant metal chickens, yes? Yes! I want one anyway and I don’t even have chickens yet. I wonder what Jer will say.

    • Isn’t that giant metal chicken entry about the most hilarious post ever? Chris found that ages ago, and we finally found a proper, fitting use for it.

  2. I STILL haven’t taken the boiling plunge and started canning. It seems that my food preservation “feats” are becoming acrobatic diversions away from canning!
    “Can I freeze this? No? I’ll just eat it all right now.”
    “Can I freeze this? No? I’ll just give it away.”
    “Can I freeze this? No? I’ll just set it next to my canning jars and canning tongs and cheesecloth and ummm… yeah. I’ll can it. Soon.”

    Hmph.

    • OMG, canning is pretty much my favorite revelation of the last two years! Seriously, it’s awesome (although I think we officially have WAAAAY too many banana peppers from last summer – still trying to get through them bitches).

      Come visit Indianapolis and we can have a three-day canning weekend.

  3. Canned goods looking good! Did you share the recipe for the honeyed hot peppers anywhere? If you roast the toms, you don’t have to peel them? Sounds intriguing. Mostly I make sauce, so a food mill takes care of seeds and peels. If I need them for soup, I freeze them. Peels slip off like a dream as they defrost!

    • You know, I don’t think I did share that recipe! It’s awesome – from “Canning for a New Generation,” modified from their Honeyed Jalapeno Peppers recipe.

      Usually I only have enough peppers to make half the recipe, which is this (since I use sliced up green cayenne peppers, jalapenos, and whatever other peppers I have in the garden):
      – 1-1.5 pounds hot peppers or a mix of hot and not-hot
      – 3 cups cider vinegar (sometimes I do half and half with white vinegar)
      – 1 cup water
      – 1 tbpsn kosher salt
      – 1 tbpsn honey
      – 1 bay leaf per jar
      – 1 clove of garlic per jar
      – a dash of whole peppercorns per jar
      – a dash of whole allspice per jar

      Dissolve honey and salt in vinegar and water and bring just to a boil. Slice all peppers into 1/4″ to 1/2″ slices and set aside. Prepare water bath canner and 1/2-pint jars. Once all is good to go, place 1 clove garlic, 1 bay leaf, dash of peppercorns, and dash of allspice in each jar, stuff with peppers, then ladle vinegar mixture in to 1/2″ headspace. Repeat until all gone, then bring to a boil, boil for 10 minutes, let sit for 5 minutes in water bath canner, remove to towel, etc. etc. :)

Leave a Reply

