A Speedy Entrance into Our Pastured Poultry Operation?

I hate to even THINK this, much less document it in the written word, since we had so many trials, tribulations, and just plain old waiting for any of our chickens to start laying eggs, but bless the eggie gods, we are already to the point where we *almost* have too many eggs! And only two of our five girls are laying at this point.

20121208. EGGIES.In other words, I’m beginning to look to the future (as in, holy crap, what will we do when all five girls start laying?!). Also, I know a lot of friends who have expressed an interest in buying our girls’ eggs.

An early entry into my dream of having a pastured poultry operation in the middle of the city? Perhaps.

Also, after a couple of beers last weekend at one of our favorite local breweries (Black Acre Brewing Co., that is – if you need a laugh, select “I am under 21” when you visit the link), Chris uttered the words I’ve been longing to hear. Wait for it… wait for it…

Chai tea milk stout and boyfriend at Black Acre.

“We probably need more chickens.”*

And my heart went pitter-pat and my mind went racing off like a roller coaster! Not one of those new fangled roller coasters, though, where the high tech cars glide noiselessly over the metal rails and you feel like you might just get shot straight into the stratosphere, oh no. More like one of those ancient wooden ones that are all jostling and jarring and you think you could get thrown off at any moment but hope to high heaven you don’t.

Welcome to the roller coaster that is my brain! In somewhat related news, I really want to buy this amazing historic building roofless facade and turn it into an open air pastured poultry operation, gardens, and market/farm store. Anyone have $279,000 lying around?

*I suppose we should note here that Chris claims to have no recollection of uttering these words I’ve longed to hear. I have assured him that he did, indeed, say them and, even moreso, meant them with all his heart. Help me out here, guys! MORE CHICKENS! You know you want eggies, too.

8 thoughts on “A Speedy Entrance into Our Pastured Poultry Operation?

    • Thank you!!! The next day when I reminded Chris of what he said, he was like, “I think I was saying IF WE ACTUALLY PLANNED TO SELL EGGS, we would probably need more chickens.” And I was all, “NOOO, you said ‘We probably need more chickens!’ Full stop! CHICKENS!” 🙂

    • Yes! I’m going to be bringing some to the neighbors across the street and a couple “samples” to one of my pub knitting friends this weekend. Can’t wait!

    • I do still make it to town every week! At this point, we could probably just do half-dozens – but once the other girls start laying, oh man, it will be ON. Would you be interested in half-dozens? I’ll have to see what the going rate is for pastured eggies. 🙂

  1. At this point in my life (as in, I’m in my mid-thirties, still not entirely sure what I want to be when I grow up, and willing to try anything), I would so be in on the “open air pastured poultry operation, gardens, and market/farm store.” It sounds like heaven.

    Will had a moment of weakness once, and suggested we get a second dog. That’s how I got my Ziggy. Don’t let Chris back peddle on this one – more chickens can only be a good thing.

    • “More chickens can only be a good thing” – exactly what I’m thinking! And I hear you. I feel very much in the same boat, considering what’s next, wanting to make a move but having no freaking clue what that next move should be. So instead, I’m doing all sorts of little things (working on a local food guide, volunteering at farms, looking into apprenticeships and other programs, etc.), trying to meet as many people as I can, and hoping that something clearer starts rising to the surface.

Leave a Reply

