CALIENTE! Posts from the Vault

EDITOR’S NOTE (aka words from MOI): In doing a little blog cleanup, I noticed we have 10, count ’em, 10 out-standing draft posts! They’re just sitting there behind the scenes, collecting dust on their little periods and exclamation points. One of them is this gem, which I wrote out specifically so I could re-create my favorite canning recipe of the past two summers. Read on and savor the mental image of a balmy late-September day, when this post was initially drafted!

In addition to drinking beer in the fall sunshine with friends and hanging with the chickens, I also canned a couple more jars of hot peppers today. Since I talk so much about how freaking amazing they are (and since I’d like to have a good record of the actual recipe I use), here’s the secret recipe. Shhh… don’t tell.

HONEYED HOT PEPPERS OF MAGIC AND DOOM
– 1-1.5 pounds hot green peppers (cayenne, jalapeno work well) or a mix of hot and not-hot
– 3 cups cider vinegar (sometimes I do half and half with white vinegar)
– 1 cup water
– 1 tbpsn kosher salt
– 1 tbpsn honey
– 1 bay leaf per jar
– 1 clove of garlic per jar
– a dash of whole peppercorns per jar
– a dash of whole allspice per jar (if you’ve got ’em)

Slice peppers into 1/4″ to 1/2″ rounds and set aside. Dissolve honey and salt in vinegar and water and bring just to a boil. Prepare water bath canner and 1/2-pint jars. Once all is good to go with your canning setup, put 1 clove garlic, 1 bay leaf, dash of peppercorns, and dash of allspice in each jar, stuff with peppers, then ladle vinegar mixture in to 1/2″ headspace. Repeat until all your peppers are gone. Then bring water bath canner to a boil, boil for 10 minutes, let sit for 5 minutes in water bath canner, remove to towel, let sit overnight… then SCARF THEM DOWN.

20111029. final harvest!

2 thoughts on “CALIENTE! Posts from the Vault

    • In this case, necessity bred deliciousness! My first year gardening, our cayenne pepper plants went gangbusters. I had 225 green cayenne peppers on my six plants in the garden (seriously, I counted them as I harvested them), and our first hard frost threatened to turn them all to mush. I had no idea what to do with green cayenne peppers, but a quick search of my canning recipes yielded a version of this recipe. I figured I might as well try it.

      We love these babies so much that not a single cayenne pepper was allowed to fully ripen last year – I just kept canning them using this recipe before they could turn red. YUM.

Leave a Reply

