Uncle, Winter… UNCLE!

Earlier this week, we had 60 degree temperatures, thunderstorms, and tornado warnings. Last night, it was 5. FIVE! And so, winter, I’m calling it. You had your fun with us, and I know last fall I was all, “I love the cold as long as there’s snow! I just hope we get a good snowstorm or two.” Yes, you abided. I appreciate that about you, winter.

But I’m over it. Uncle. There, it has been officially stated. I call uncle.

20130201. Winter hobo style.

Winter hobo is totally on-trend this year.

Luckily, I have green things growing already and the promise of more green things. Last week or so, I posted about asking for free seeds from Wintersown. This was my first time contacting them, and I sent an SASE and a request for 6 packets of free mixed seeds. You wanna know what arrived today?

You know what was in it? Holy criminy, I am so excited!

20130201. Free seeds from Wintersown.org!

We’ve got:

  • Cabbage
  • Mexican Hat
  • Raymond’s Canada Extra Early Tomatoes
  • Tatsoi (a relative of Bok Choy)
  • Wildflower blend
  • Evening primrose
  • Shirley poppy
  • Rudbeckia Indian Summer
  • Pink Hibiscus

In the basement, we already have the following seedlings either planted or growing:

  • A bunch of different lettuces
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Artichokes
  • Peas
  • A couple of different types of cauliflower
  • Tomatoes
  • A bunch of peppers
  • And… some other stuff I can’t remember without looking

20130201. Greens to keep us going this winter.

20130201. Greens to keep us going this winter.

In totally unrelated news, I now have a chicken serving as co-pilot of a spaceship and a yarn ball planet on my arm. I am pleased with this.

20130201. Yarn ball planet.

2 thoughts on “Uncle, Winter… UNCLE!

  1. Oh wow! I LOVE your new ink. I’ve been dying to get another (strategically placed) tattoo, and I think it’ll have to involve a chicken somehow. I just wish I didn’t have to hide them. I’d like to show them off without having to take my pants off in public (just kidding, sort of).

    Awesome free seeds! I wonder if they ship to Canada. I’ll have to look into it. I want to do everything I can this spring to avoid anything Monsanto, which is more difficult than it should be.

    (If this posts twice, please excuse my computer ignorance. There’s still some features of a tablet that I don’t know how to use properly).

    • THANK YOU! I love the new tattoo, too, although I’m thinking I might go back soon for more color. I just really like color, dangit. On that note, I got the best compliment ever yesterday – this older gentleman told me he liked my colors. 🙂 On the covering it up part, though, yeah… I need to invest in some 3/4-sleeve light cardigans for work.

      You should check out the seed place. I was really surprised at how many different seeds they sent! They just ask for a SASE, so perhaps as long as you put a bunch of stamps on it, they’d be willing?

Leave a Reply

