The Garden Gets Just a Little More Awesome

I am exceedingly proud of our work this weekend. Well, to be fair, Chris did almost all of it, from planning to materials pickup to post hole digging, etc. I was the Vanna White to his Pat Sajak. The Bonnie to his Clyde. The Ernie to his Burt.

So what exactly did we accomplish? WE HAVE A GARDEN FENCE, Y’ALL! A fence to protect our delicate planties from sweet little beings by the names of Birdie, Beaker, Dino Puppy, Boo, Edgar, and Little Red.

20130415. The backyard - year 1, year 2, and year 3.

Our backyard from move-in day until now: May 2011, May 2012, April 2013.

The fence has two giant gates – one near the house and the other headed out toward the compost bins in back. There’s plenty of room to maneuver and, best of all, when I look at it, I don’t see fence. I see plants.

20130415. We have a garden fence!

20130415. We have a garden fence!

I think the plants are pleased, too. Way to kick some serious homeowning butt, Chris.
20130415. Lettuce, cauliflower, and peas.

I also know that probably everyone in the universe has been eagerly awaiting an update re: the barley fodder trays I was growing for chicken snacks. Before we got the fence in, it was pretty impossible to give the chickens access to the yard without the danger of them decimating my kale, cauliflower, and lettuce seedlings. The answer?

Barley fodder trays:
20130413. Barley fodder trays for the chickens.

TL;DR? They didn’t hate it. Here’s a ridiculous video of chickens eating said barley fodder tray with my dorky voice in the background. Ah, chickens…

2 thoughts on “The Garden Gets Just a Little More Awesome

    • I am really hoping we can reach a point this summer where Birdie and the chickens can all live peacefully in the backyard together (at least, when we’re there to supervise). I think it’s possible – Birdie survived her first mass-of-children mauling with nary a child in sight bitten!

Leave a Reply

