It’s Official… We Are MARRIED!

I have a husband, and I couldn’t be happier! On Saturday, September 7 at 4 pm, Chris and I got married at South Circle Farm, with our reception on the patio of Creation Cafe, overlooking the canal, downtown Indianapolis, and the capitol building off in the distance. Our wedding ceremony was what I thought would be my favorite part – and it was – but there were so many other wonderful moments, too.

I am so glad we did everything just the way we did. It was perfect, and I don’t use that word lightly: getting married at the farm, the ceremony, seeing my friends and family, the officiant, the photographers, the dinner and reception site, the decorations, the rings, the wholesale flowers, the weather, my bouquet, the barbecue and open house on Sunday, the hotel, and especially the guy. Weirdly, perfectly perfect.

There is also no way we could have pulled it off (and been allowed to just enjoy ourselves so thoroughly) without my parents, who handled so very many of the details and not-so-fun stuff. I am so full of gratitude for them.

Here’s a little sneak peek of what we’ve had going on the last couple of days. On Friday, my mom and I made flower arrangements while the boys bought food for the Sunday open house barbecue. I was rather in love with all of the flowers. 20130906. Our beautiful wedding flowers.
20130906. Hulk green hydrangeas!

My mom is the bomb.
20130906. Wedding flowers.

Then we got married:
20130907. Us! Married! At South Circle Farm.

20130907. I might like him just a little bit.

That one time we got married.

Chris and I stayed at a swanky downtown art hotel Saturday night, had a lovely, coffee-filled brunch on Sunday morning, then headed home to set up for the open house.20130908. My mom was beautifully color coordinated!

My dad made his famous guacamole. I’ll have to tell you about when he almost made me cry walking me out to the ceremony and how I almost made him cry with all the nice things the officiant said about the two of them.
20130908. Dad and his famous guacamole.

I’m even in love with my ring, which belonged to my dad’s aunt, my Great-Aunt Mildred, who served in WWII and the Korean War, had an amazing little house in Studio City, California, with a lemon tree in the backyard, fed all of the neighborhood cats, and was healthy and spry well into her 90s.
20130907. My wedding ring, which belonged to my great-aunt Mildred.

Long story short… we got hitched, y’all!

10 thoughts on “It’s Official… We Are MARRIED!

    • Thank you, thank you! It really was! I just can’t believe how easy it all was. I mean, there was a lot to do and a lot of to do lists, but I think we managed to pull together an amazing wedding in two months.

Leave a Reply

