40 Weeks, 3 Days (and Two Weeks Later)!

It’s been quiet around these parts. And by “these parts,” I mean this blog, because it certainly hasn’t been quiet around the house. No, I am not sitting here, massively overdue and still pregnant. Instead, I type this with a sweet little boy sleeping in his wrap across my chest.

That’s right: on February 18 at 5:35 am, we welcomed yet another little beastie to our menagerie, this time in the form of an 8 lb., 13 oz., 21.5 inch long baby boy named Willem Altair! On Sunday, 2/16, we took a nice walk with Birdie through snowy Holliday Park. Seriously, the snow was up to her chest, and I was wishing I had snowshoes at one point! The first day of my maternity leave was Monday, 2/17, and at my morning appointment with the midwife, she scheduled a workup for us on Thursday. But she said as she left the room, “I really don’t think you’ll make it until then.”

Three hours later, I had finished setting up the changing area in the nursery, and my water broke as I walked out of the nursery. Labor was totally surreal, raw, and intense. Most of the time, I had no clue what was going on around me or who was in the room with us. Chris did amazingly well, and we had some fantastic nurses coaching me along. Although we wanted to go non-medicated, I did end up getting an epidural right towards the end, and it seriously saved me. I have no regrets about the epidural, let me tell you.

If the lateness of this blog post is any indication of our experience with new parenthood, Willem will be two weeks old tomorrow. I’m not sure where those two weeks have gone or what we’ve been doing, other than a lot of feeding the baby, changing the baby, rocking the baby, napping, etc. It’s amazing how much time and energy these things require. I finally managed to pay a couple of bills today, which I consider a great success. I might even make it out to the grocery store! Hey, it’s the little things.

Chris has taken such good care of me, Willem, the house, and all our animals the past two weeks. It’s going to be a little rough when he goes back to work next week, but luckily my parents will be coming for most of that week to help out and meet their newest grandson.

My guys, day one:
Baby K has arrived.

Me and my babe:
Baby K has arrived.

Family photo (Birdie photobomb!):
Family photo!

Long story short, we are happy, exhausted, and figuring things out still. Breastfeeding in particular has been a challenge, but I’m really hoping we are on the upswing with that. Raising a newborn is a lot of work!

16 thoughts on “40 Weeks, 3 Days (and Two Weeks Later)!

  1. Congratulations!! Willem is beautiful, actually you all are! Learning to breastfeed can be challenging but as the mom of five breastfed kids (and a former LLL Leader) I have to share that it is so, so worth figuring it out. Thinking of you! Michele

    • Thank you so much! I will be heading back to a breastfeeding group tomorrow to hopefully get some more latching help. I had a one on one consult last Monday with an LC, and she said we were just fine tuning. Well, my extremely sore nipples beg to differ! I’m not giving up by any means, but I would love to be getting on track with this and healing up my poor boobies!

      • I’m happy to hear that you’ve found a group. Spending time and sharing your experience with other moms who understand is really helpful. Here’s a link to the LLL fact sheet (with lots of links) about nipple soreness. Maybe there’s something in there that will help you out. http://www.llli.org/faq/heal.html

    • I think I already am! I’ve spent most of my days and nights feeding this little guy. I’m hoping it gets less painful very very soon. It has been a bit of a rough start with breastfeeding, but I’m thankful that I’m feeling pretty good in all other ways.

      • I had a rough go of breastfeeding too. My son was tongue tied, so it made for an extremely unpleasant experience until it was fixed. I ended up pumping mostly. Good luck!

  2. Seriously… I’ve had tears in my eyes the whole time reading this. You guys are the cutest family ever, to include Birdie of course… LOVE the photobomb!!!

    • Aw, thank you so much. It has definitely been challenging in many ways, but we sure do love this little guy. My favorite is watching Chris with him. Well, and his sweet smiles and happy kicking.

  3. I have been coming back day after day to see your new family. Congratulations! Welcome Willem! Love your last photo, I agree fantastic photo bomb by Birdie! Has he licked Willem’s toes yet?

  4. WHAT A GREAT BLOG Post! I LOVED EVERY WORD OF IT!!! I’m so happy for you, Chris and Willem (what a great name)! By the way, the pic of Birdie photo-bombing you guys is the best! lolol Wishing you all much peace and happiness in the years to come!

    • The blog post we’ve all been waiting for! Myself included! It’s hard to believe he’s finally here sometimes. We waited anxiously for so so long!

  5. Yay! I’m glad to hear the wee babe has finally arrived 🙂

    I hope the feeding gets easier for you, but if you have to bottle feed, don’t feel guilty. I just read a new study that shows there are no long-term benefits to being breastfed (there are short-term benefits). We’re getting ready to welcome a foster baby into our home, and I was worried about having feed formula (because there’s no way to breastfeed a foster baby!) but honestly, this study put my mind at ease. Here’s the link if you want to check it out:

    http://commonhealth.wbur.org/2014/02/sibling-study-finds-no-long-term-breastfeeding-benefits-for-kid

    Two of my friends that just had babies weren’t able to breastfeed and felt so guilty about it. There’s so much pressure on new moms already – let this ease your mind a bit 🙂

    • I saw that you are fostering! That is amazing. I can’t wait to read all about it. You guys are awesome, and any kid will be lucky to have you as a foster parent.

      Breastfeeding has thankfully gotten soooo much easier. It’s incredibly time consuming, and I’ve found I have to just be gentle v with myself. If the bed doesn’t get made or work for the job done, it’s not because I’m lazy or incompetent. It’s because I’m tied to this baby all day long and am kind of at his beck and call. It’s been difficult for me to accept that I can’t do it all, though.

Leave a Reply

