How Has It Been Almost a Year?

The baby’s-first-year-on-the-planet time warp is REAL, folks. How is it that our son is almost one? Well, really, he’s almost 11 months old, but since I’ve begun planning his first birthday party, it feels like his first trip around the sun is really almost here.

It simultaneously feels like the longest year of my life AND like he just arrived yesterday. Kind of for the same reasons, actually – Willem has changed SO MUCH in the last 11 months (and so have I), and the changes are happening faster and faster every day, it seems. Suddenly, we have a waving, giggling, steady on his feet (at least when standing), sweet little guy with his own PERSONALITY and stuff. Oh, and he can say “mama,” which is about the cutest thing ever.

And to think: a year ago, he was still IN MAH BELLY. Totally crazy.

20140112. 35 weeks.

One year ago today.

Anyway, I’m getting pretty excited for his birthday. The kid has so many toys already, so we are definitely not getting him much in the way of “stuff.” Instead, on the actual big day, Chris will take off work so we can go do something fun as a family – I’m thinking we’ll go to the Children’s Museum. Then we’re having a small party of family and friends to help celebrate.

I am ALL OVER Pinterest these days re: party decor. See Exhibit A:

First birthday crafting.

Willem loves reading, so the big “thing” he’ll get from us is something along the lines of this:

Chris is going to build the tent frame, and I just ordered this fabric for the tent sides. I am probably, definitely a little WAY TOO EXCITED about it. I think we’ll really enjoy reading together, lying in our tent:

I’m also putting together some fun little camping supplies to round out the whole tent gift idea. Like… have you ever knitted a log? Because I am currently knitting a log! (I mean, I don’t have a LOG….)

Any other ideas to add to the tent/camping gift? I need to go thrifting and see if I can find some fun metal cooking camp pots, maybe a metal mug. A fake/wooden Coleman lamp? Or, heck, a REAL (but baby-friendly) lamp of some sort?

2 thoughts on “How Has It Been Almost a Year?

  1. I LOVE that fabric! One of those tents is on my list of things I want to make for Declan. We have until August for his first birthday, but I’m already trying to plan things out gift-wise so I have plenty of time to make them. I have a pattern for a fabric/stuffed bowling set (6 pins and a ball that you make out of fat quarters) so I think that’s either a bday gift or possibly Christmas.

    • If all goes according to my diabolical tent-flap-sewing plan, it should be done tonight! The fabric looks really awesome, I must say. Yeah, for Willem’s birthday, we are definitely not going overboard gift-wise. He has so much stuff already, you know? I’m really hoping family members help chip in for a membership to the Children’s Museum. We would go all the time!

      That bowling set sounds adorable. 🙂 I think I’ll be knitting up a storm again next Christmas for gifts!

Leave a Reply

