Willem and His Questions… and a Few Updates Around the House

Where has the summer gone? Between baby rearing, toddler wrangling, freelancing, and community garden managing, things have felt a little harried lately. And by “lately,” I really mean, “since January 29, Max’s birth day.” At 6 months, Max has cut his first two teeth, is eating real food two times a day, and has only recently started liking sleep.

My days are full to the brim with baby rearing and toddler wrangling. I wouldn’t have it any other way. This morning as we loaded into the car to go to the community garden, Willem said to Max, “Let’s go on an adventure, Maaah.” I count this as a parenting win, the fact that my toddler thinks of every outing as an adventure.

IMG_20160808_095123576

IMG_20160723_130427804

So this update is brought to you by a) the fact that Max has been napping for over an hour and b) me managing to get my freelance job for August done. WINNING.

WILLEM AND HIS QUESTIONS: My Cuteness Cup Runneth Over

In July, Willem started something new – he asks the question he wants us to ask him. Then when we repeat it, he says enthusiastically, “Okay!” Ex: Willem: “Do you want play with school bus?” I repeat the question, he yells, “Okay!” Or in the middle of the night, we’ll hear a plaintive, “Do you want to go pee?” from his room. Chris goes in, asks if he needs to pee, then: “Okay!”

Last week, I was tending to Max, who just got his first two teeth and has needed extra snuggles, for a while. Willem was playing on his own, then finally came up to me and said, “Do you want to sit in Mommy’s lap?” Aw, buddy. Later that evening, it was, “Do you need hug?”

Then a few nights ago, Willem was standing at the side of our bed at 1:30 in the morning. Willem: “Do you need some attention?” (I repeat the question). Him: “Okay!” Aw, bud. Then: “Do you need to rest? Do you need to snuggle bunny?” (I repeat him). “Okay!”

So. Cute. He’s got an amazing vocabulary and communicates incredibly well for 2.5 years old. He’s also an awesome big brother. We had big storms a couple of weeks ago, and when the storm really hit one afternoon, Willem started patting Max gently on the top of his head, saying: “That’s okay. That’s okay, Max. Just a little thunderstorm, Max.”

Birdie kisses

IMG_20160729_105955342

UPDATES AROUND THE HOMESTEAD

We haven’t really done a whole lot around the house this year in terms of building out our garden space. Things have felt a tad busy/overwhelming this year. BUT! We did plant 32 native perennial wildflowers out front AND Chris finished our new 3-bin compost system! He’s all excited about actively managing our compost bin at the new place, which I think is adorable. We were very lazy composters at the old place, but we still got great soil out of the bins. That’s the beauty of composting, right? I mean, it’s decomposition. It’s going to break down… eventually.

Yesterday he went out with his new gigantic compost thermometer (which looks just like a meat thermometer, only several feet long) and found that both piles were in the “hot” range. Awesomesauce! Now we just need to build a bunch of garden beds to fill with our new compost once its done cooking. Hint, hint, Chris.

IMG_20160731_144004882

IMG_20160807_083653644

IMG_20160807_083706733_HDR

Oh, and? I’m knitting again! First project since Max’s birth is a temperature blanket, and I also just started knitting his Christmas stocking. I feel like my old self! 20160806. Temperature blanket, one month in. Hint: brown represents the days above 90 degrees. 120/365. #365days

4 thoughts on “Willem and His Questions… and a Few Updates Around the House

    • I’m trying! Most days are fantastic, and it’s so amazing seeing these guys grow. I was telling Chris last night how thankful I am that I get to stay home with these two in these early years. I cannot imagine leaving them all day and am so glad I live in a place where it’s possible for me to put my career on hold and spend my days with Willem and Max.

  1. I love hearing from you again. It sounds like your boys are keeping you on your toes, which is a good thing, right?! I’m always so impressed with the things that Chris builds, he’s really good!! And, Willem and his cuteness just melts my heart… he’s such a great older brother!! Take care and I look forward to the next update!

    • So good to see your comment! I have been awful about blogging – and pretty much anything that isn’t kid, work, or garden related. Like, our house is out of control filthy even. Cannot keep up! But it’s all good.

      Chris is so talented. He really plans out and thinks through things before building them, and it shows. Next up: installing a door for the chickens in their run so they can access the back corner of our yard all day!

      Hope you are doing wonderfully.

Leave a Reply

