State of the Garden Address, May 9

I established previously that I sucked at growing plants from seeds this year. After much coaxing, teeth gnashing, lying awake at night, and general upset, I made it through to the acceptance stage. Namely, I accepted that I would just have to buy many of my summer garden plants this year.

20120509. The seedlings have sucked this year.

Suspended animation – the magical, non-growing seedlings of 2012!

Single tear. So last weekend, the grow lights were dimmed, the seedlings were moved outside to fend for themselves, and I headed to the Broad Ripple farmer’s market and Habig’s Garden Shop to get my plant fix.

20120509. State of the Garden Address.

First State of the Garden Address of 2012: at least the spring seedlings grew like weeds.

I figured it might be a good thing to document exactly what is planted where at this point. Plus, I love looking back at initial garden photos in, say, August to see how much the baby planties have grown. Oh, the babies!

Bed #1:

20120509. Looking ahead to warmer weather.

Front row: Summer squash, hot Portugal pepper, Genovese basil, Georgia flame pepper, and summer squash. Middle row: Genovese basil, three cayenne peppers, Genovese basil. Back rows: six Roma tomatoes.

Bed #2:

20120509. First attempts at fennel.

The “we’ll see” bed. At this point, it’s got some baby lettuce, an insanely massive fennel, a couple of languishing basil plants, lavender and rosemary, some peas, and a few bee balms.

Does anyone know what kind of caterpillar this is? It loves the fennel, and I love it.

20120509. Fennel-loving caterpillar.

Bed #3:

20120509. Beets and peas and lettuce.

Front row: beets and lettuces. Middle row: three jalapeno plants and some ridiculously healthy peas. Back row (hidden by aforementioned peas): two grape tomatoes, hog heart tomato, mom’s paste tomato, two black krim tomatoes, and a garden peach tomato.

Did I mention how healthy the peas and lettuces are?

20120509. The peas and lettuce are just a little happy with the world right now.

Bed #4:

20120509. Strawberries, cayenne peppers, and cucumbers.

Left side: three cayenne peppers in back, four strawberry plants in the middle, sad little chives in the front. Right side: three pickling cucumbers up front, three slicing cucumbers in back.

And let’s not forget the green beans!
20120509. Green beans.New-to-me this year (so far): beets, lettuce, strawberries, fennel (and definitely quite a few of the heirloom tomatoes and peppers). This weekend, I’m hoping we will get our berry bush supports built and some plants in the ground, too. Raspberries and blueberries and blackberries? Thumbs WAY up.

6 thoughts on “State of the Garden Address, May 9

  1. I still have yet to plant my seedlings into my raised bed. I’m in zone 3 though, so it’s not like there’s a crazy-mad rush. I’m going to the garden center today to pick up bags of perlite, ProMix and various amendments to finish up my soil and then I’m waiting a week so that the compost has time to get all comfy with the rest of the soil. Also, I might be into run-on sentences all of a sudden.

    • Ha! I have been known to imbibe on the run-on sentence myself at times. 🙂 It sounds like you’ve got a good plan. We are in zone 5 (I *think*), and I was getting antsy surounded by all those dying/non-growing seedings. It was time! I still want to peruse the farmers’ market again and get a couple more exotic or new-to-me types of plants for the main part of the summer. And then – I have to start thinking about fall seeds! See how my brain works? The summer plants are barely in the ground, and I’m already thinking fall.

      • That’s the way you should do it though! I wish I had put a little more thought into this spring and summer’s gardening last fall. I’m guessing you’re going to appreciate giving yourself plenty of time to plan.

        And about exotic and new-to-me types of plants, I really wanted to plant banana peppers this year (my garden’s notoriously awesome at growing pepper plants), but couldn’t find them anywhere local! Pretty frickin’ frustrating.

Leave a Reply

