Giving Thanks, Days 10, 11, and 12: Bands from Half a Lifetime Ago and More

Day 10: THANKS TO MY ROCKSTAR BOYFRIENDS. I’ve now been in love with many of you for almost half my life, and you still pull me right back in every time I hear your dulcet tones. (Someday, I’ll have to give thanks to my “guilty pleasures” bands and songs. YouTube is apparently aware of all of them).

Jawbreaker’s Blake Schwarzenbach: his lyrics made 15-year-old me and 34-year-old me feel all the feels.

Cursive’s Tim Kasher: This super old, amazing video of two of my old favorites is making me very happy.

Day 11: THANKS TO MY FREAKING AMAZINGLY CRAFTY HUSBAND. Yesterday, he spent the day building out our nursery closet (you know, the one for which I had drawn a really amazing, I’m sure super helpful diagram). He brings our hair-brained ideas to life and, I’m convinced, can do just about anything: rewire electrical outlets, run cables through the crawl space, build garden beds, design and create a chicken run extension, level a rain barrel, build a compost bin system, create awesome closet systems, etc. You get the idea. I’m so glad I married him!

20110520. chris making the bed.

20130504. Chris finishing up the hop trellis.

20120123. an example of our actual notes to each other.

Day 12: The day is still young, but I have a sneaking suspicion I need to give a SHOUT OUT TO THE BACKYARDS OF THE WORLD (especially mine). Dearest backyard, you continue to feed us, even though I have been occupied with many, many other projects this year and not paid proper attention to you. If I’m hungry or thinking about what to make for dinner, all I need to do is walk outside, pick a bunch of greens, run to the basement for a garlic head, and voila! We have some green goodies to add to eggies (thanks, chickens!) or throw into a homemade pizza alongside some backyard sweet potatoes.

20130622. The garden.

As I stare out at naked branches and fallen leaves, it seems like a fitting time to thank the garden. It’s been a great summer, and now it’s time to rest.

Leave a Reply

